Talk:Counter (move)

From Bulbapedia, the community-driven Pokémon encyclopedia.
Jump to navigationJump to search

Mirror Coat vs. Counter in the anime

Not sure how to word it, but in the anime, a few episodes did take into account that Mirror Coat and Counter are different. One of them was about Misty's Corsola and Mirror Coat (being unable to counter a Hyper Beam according to the old in-game rules), and the most notable event was when Duplica explained their difference in Imitation Confrontation; in this episode, Counter and Mirror Coat were explained by Duplica as if Generation IV rules were the ones applied. --Johans 18:00, 15 June 2008 (UTC)

The problem is Wobbuffet has reflected everything with Counter...although I guess one has to concede that the anime tried to fix this later.--Loveはドコ? (talk contribs) 19:33, 15 June 2008 (UTC)

As a reference point, the episode where Brock (falsely) explains that Mirror Coat can only counter Water attacks is EP217. On Jessie's Wobbuffet's page, it explains in the Trivia section that Jessie often merely asks for Wobbuffet to counter an attack (though admittedly, she does often say "Counter Attack" against a special attack.)--Scoobsz21 00:02, 28 June 2010 (UTC)

Move unreachable in Generation II games

There is a problem with the data for Generation II games. As given here, it is impossible for any pokemon other than Heracross, Gligar, Scyther, Paras, Wobbuffet, Hitmonchan, and Hitmontop to ever learn it. It is an egg move for a number of other pokemon, but it is not given how any of them learn it from a pokemon who learns it by level. Clearly there is an omission; someone please correct this. Parasect 07:39, 11 February 2009 (UTC)

Trades from Gen I say hi. TTEchidna 08:07, 11 February 2009 (UTC)


I think we may need to be a bit careful about uses in the anime. Counter and counter are very very close. Maybe Caterpie wasn't using Counter, he was countering? Same with Staryu? The Dark Fiddler - You enter a poorly lit room... 11:17, 26 April 2009 (UTC)

One-hit KO moves

If a one-hit KO move is used while Substitute is in play, the subsitute is broken, and on the next turn, counter will also be a one-hit KO. Where does this go in the article? Flyingtypefan 08:16, 24 May 2010 (UTC)

No it doesn't. A OHKO makes an opponent with full HP faint in one move, counter doesn't as you have less HP than your maximum HP.--ForceFire 08:33, 24 May 2010 (UTC)

Wonder Guard

Will a Pokémon Wonder Guard be hit by Counter? Same for Mirror Coat. FrozenStrategy 17:41, 23 August 2010 (UTC)

I think typing is taken into account, as Counter can't hit ghosts and Mirror Coat can't hit dark types. So I assume that goes for wonder guard too. --Pyritie 09:50, 8 September 2010 (UTC)

Physical moves or defense

Now that there are moves like Psyshock and Secret Sword (SA attacks Def), are we positive it's physical moves that activate Counter, and not the defense that would take it? Luna Tiger * the Arc Toraph 19:55, 25 July 2011 (UTC)

Just checked, my Wobbuffet's Counter didn't activate against a wild Duosion's Psyshock but Mirror Coat did. That makes it the classification of the move that counts, not the Defence stat it uses. - Blazios talk 20:49, 25 July 2011 (UTC)
Thank you, Blaz. :3 Luna Tiger * the Arc Toraph 21:04, 25 July 2011 (UTC)

Regarding a statement in the article

"If an HP-restoring item is used on the opponent during the same round that Counter is used, Counter will counter the item." I realize that this may be Generation I-exclusive (in which case that would have to be mentioned.), but what exactly is this trying to word? So, if an opponent uses, say, a Potion on his Pokémon and your Pokémon uses Counter, will it be countered then? If that's what the statement is trying to say, then it definitely does not work in Generation IV. ht14 00:17, 26 December 2011 (UTC)

Hence why it's under the Generation I heading. LordArceus 07:21, 27 April 2013 (UTC)

Using Counter after U-Turn

If a Pokemon uses U-Turn and the target of U-Turn uses Counter, does the original user of U-Turn get hit with Counter or does the switch-in get hit?

For example, Scizor uses U-Turn on Deoxys-D and Deoxys-D is ordered to use Counter. Does Counter hit before or after the switch? --Awsuko 16:38, 6 May 2012 (UTC)

Obviously it hits after the switch, since U-turn switches the user out right after the hit and Counter has -5 priority.--Den Zen 18:49, 6 May 2012 (UTC)

Ah, OK. I just assumed that since Counter hits the Pokemon that last attacked it physically (As applied in Double/Triple Battles), it would hit said attacker, not the switch-in who has yet to strike. --Awsuko 19:25, 6 May 2012 (UTC)

Black/White2 Desctiption

I know you probably know this but the Black 2 / White 2 description is the same as D/P/Pt/HG/SS/B/W ... just a heads up --Ben7229 (talk) 19:31, 11 October 2012 (UTC)