User talk:Flain

From Bulbapedia, the community-driven Pokémon encyclopedia.
Jump to navigationJump to search
Welcome to Bulbapedia, Flain!
Bulbapedia bulb.png

By creating your account you are now able to edit pages, join discussions, and expand the community-driven Pokémon encyclopedia. Before you jump in, here are some ground rules:

  • Be nice to everyone. It's in the code of conduct.
  • Make good edits. Preview them before you save to make sure they're perfect the first time around.
  • Use wikicode and link templates when adding content to a page.
  • Use proper grammar and spelling, and read the manual of style.
  • You can't create a userpage until you've added to the encyclopedia. It's a privilege. See the userspace policy.
  • Use talk pages to resolve editing disputes. Don't "edit war," or constantly re-edit/undo the same thing on a page.
  • If you have a question about something, be proactive. Take a look at our FAQ. If you're still stuck, ask for help. The staff won't bite.
  • Sign all talk page posts with four tildes (~~~~). This will turn into your name and the time you wrote the comment.
  • For more handy links, see the welcome portal.
Thank you, and have a good time editing here!
  → PikaTepig999 18:40, 1 December 2015 (UTC)  

Edit warring

Please don't just continually revert edits, it falls under Edit warring. If you disagree with an edit, discuss it with the user that reverted you or on the talk page of the article. I've already given my reason plenty of time why it's notable, those that say "all Pokémon hatch from eggs" didn't read the trivia properly. It is Ash's first starter Pokémon to have beenconfirmed to hatch from an egg, not his first overall. Squirtle, Bulbasaur, and Charizard and Pikachu were introduced before eggs (or breeding) were a thing, so it's valid.--ForceFire 04:02, 12 December 2015 (UTC)

Problem with this warning: I only undid the edit once. I changed a piece of trivia my edit was undone and I undid that. I'm pretty sure doing something once isn't continually. Also since all Pokémon hatch from eggs it doesn't need to be confirmed that Ash's Frogadier (I view the events of episodes that haven't aired here in America yet as taking place in the future) hatched from an egg because it basically confirmed long before the XY series. So no, it's not valid. It's like saying Ash's Pikachu was never a Pichu since Ash obtained him before his pre evolved form was introduced. - unsigned comment from Flain (talkcontribs)
You removed it, got reverted and removed it again. That's the continually part, the edit-warring was more of a precautionary warning. And the Pikachu example is exactly the case. The Pikachu's infobox doesn't say "Pikachu spent X amount as a Pichu" because he was never a Pichu since Pichu was introduced before Pikachu. Like I said, the Kanto quartet were introduced before eggs were a thing, so they're exempt from the whole "All Pokémon hatch from eggs" until it is proven that they've come from eggs (because no eggs in Gen I).--ForceFire 04:56, 13 December 2015 (UTC)
Dude your logic is terrible and you're starting to make me question your intelligence. Or at least your level of common sense. - unsigned comment from Flain (talkcontribs)
Maybe explain why my logic is flawed? Rather than taunting staff.--ForceFire 07:46, 13 December 2015 (UTC)
First of all, I was serious. I'm not calling you stupid I'm just not sure how much you actually know about Pokémon. And second your logic is flawed because all it really is is denial. All your doing is denying the facts for some reason and refuse to accept anything that's different from the way you see it. And honestly thinking Ash's Kanto Pokémon are an exception just because of when they were caught is something an idiot would do (not calling you an idiot just trying to make a point).Flain (talk) 08:01, 13 December 2015 (UTC)
Oh, I'm sure you were serious in taunting the staff. If that's not what you're intention was, then maybe don't type out things like that? BEcause there is only one way we can take that.
Denial of what? Greninja being Ash's first starter revealed to hatch from an egg? Do you not see the it clrearly says starter Pokémon? Ash has plenty of those to make it notable. If anything, you're not seeing where I'm coming from. You mentioned Ash's Pikachu and whether it evolved from a Pichu. I gave a reason why we don't say it evolved from a Pichu: Pikachu was caught in Gen I, Pichu did not exist in Gen I. It's the same thing with genders. Heracross is not classified as Male because it was caught in a generation where Gender Differences was not a thing. It's the same logic here.--ForceFire 08:07, 13 December 2015 (UTC)
What you're denying is that information can effect other information and the Pokémon franchise is no different. - unsigned comment from Flain (talkcontribs)
Ash's other starter Pokémon that isn't kanto don't have "spent X amount of episodes as an egg", because they haven't been shown to hatch from an egg. They may have hatched from an egg, but we have no visual anime (since this is the anime we're dealing with) evidence to back it up, just that all Pokémon hatch from eggs.--ForceFire 08:17, 13 December 2015 (UTC)
Which proves it.Flain (talk) 08:22, 13 December 2015 (UTC)
It just proves that Ash's Greninja hatched from an egg, not the others. We know the other hatched from an egg, but we need to see it.--ForceFire 08:28, 13 December 2015 (UTC)
You are so stubborn. And you have no idea what you're talking about. - unsigned comment from Flain (talkcontribs)


Please remember to always sign your comments. You can sign your comments with 4 tildes (~) or clicking the signature stamp (Signature button.png) on the top of the edit box. It should also be noted that once your comment has been marked as unsigned, you cannot replace it with your signature as it will give off the wrong time stamp. Thank you for taking your time to read this message, have a good day. --ForceFire 07:46, 13 December 2015 (UTC)

Like the message says, you can't re-sign an unsigned comment since it gives off the wrong time stamp. And no, manually typing in the right timestamp won't do as well. Just leave the unsigned template alone.--ForceFire 16:03, 13 December 2015 (UTC)


It has come to my attention that you share the same email address to Teslo, a user who registered an never did anything. The user also hasn't been active since 2014. Just curious and wanted to know why you share an email address with that user?--ForceFire 16:19, 13 December 2015 (UTC)

Okay I think I know what happened. I must've made that account and forgot I did that. I have a tendency to forget things even when they shouldn't be that hard to remember. Sorry about that, I never intended to have more than one account it just slipped my mind. Again, sorry about that.Flain (talk) 18:11, 13 December 2015 (UTC)
That's understandable. --ForceFire 04:22, 14 December 2015 (UTC)
Glad you understand.--Flain (talk) 04:49, 14 December 2015 (UTC)

Talk page comments

When you make a comment on a talk page, you always respond at the end of the discussion. Please do not ever insert a comment into the middle of a discussion as you have been doing recently. It doesn't matter if that's closer to the comment you are responding to, it only screws up the timeline of progressive comments. Thank you. Tiddlywinks (talk) 03:08, 26 February 2016 (UTC)

Ultra Beast

A change that profound requires staff approval. If no staff have responded to you on the talk page, that doesn't mean you can just go ahead and do it. It means you should be going to the staff listing, picking someone, and asking them personally to approve it. Pumpkinking0192 (talk) 18:20, 22 June 2017 (UTC)

And you still lack the authority to make me listen to you.Flain (talk) 19:04, 22 June 2017 (UTC)
I mean, if you want to keep edit warring and get banned, be my guest. I'm just trying to explain to you the path that won't get you banned. Pumpkinking0192 (talk) 19:05, 22 June 2017 (UTC)
Flain, if it's authority you want, here's what Tiddlywinks, a mod, has to say: "Besides Pumpkinking being right, you're edit warring". Pumpkinking shouldn't need authority to tell you not to edit war or make a change like that, anyways. --Celadonkey 19:25, 22 June 2017 (UTC)
That particular quote did not address what I was saying at the time so that is not the best example you could give in this situation. Also this isn't about the edit, I'm just making it clear that I technically don't have to do what he tells me. So you really haven't made any valid point on this subject. - unsigned comment from Flain (talkcontribs)
Well, no, I supposed you don't have to do what Pumpkinking. tells you to do. But Tiddlywinks, yes, and you might get banned temporarily if you don't listen to him, and you will get banned if you keep removing the trivia point. --Celadonkey 20:04, 22 June 2017 (UTC)
Look, I completely understand how frustrating this can be; you're not getting an answer, and you don't know what else to do. I've been there before. I'm not sure what to do, but maybe you could try asking on their talk page. I wish I could be more help, but that's all I got. Sorry. ¿¡Unowninator?! (talk) 20:25, 22 June 2017 (UTC)

Flain... Yes, what I said in reverting you on Legendary Pokémon should have made it abundantly clear that you should not have made your recent edit to Ultra Beast. It does not in the least matter whether the person reverting you had explicit authority. You should certainly be smart enough to know that if it wasn't OK on Legendary Pokemon, it wasn't OK on Ultra Beast. ...This is not a happy circumstance. Use talk pages. Don't edit war. Tiddlywinks (talk) 02:37, 23 June 2017 (UTC)

How many times do I have to explain this? I did and no one replied so I changed the article because I knew nothing would get done otherwise. And don't take this the wrong way, but I don't have much faith in the administrative process when it comes to that sort of information anyway. No disrespect intended. - unsigned comment from Flain (talkcontribs)
Plenty of people don't keep close eyes on every article's talk page. If no one replies to a suggestion on the talk page, Bulbapedia's preferred protocol is to go to a staff member and ask them on their personal talk page, since that provides them an alert. Pumpkinking0192 (talk) 15:12, 23 June 2017 (UTC)
Any sort of "lack of faith" goes absolutely out the window as any remote excuse, Flain, when you first just edit war on the Legendary Pokemon page, and then edit the Ultra Beast page after you're well aware of the situation on the Legendary Pokemon page. Neither of those things evince anything but wanting your way. Tiddlywinks (talk) 15:43, 23 June 2017 (UTC)
That was not an excuse for anything. I seriously don't expect much from admins when it comes to handling certain information. And that itself is a result of what I've observed here in the past (example: the entire argument about Greninja being "confirmed" to hatch from an egg, which I won). But that is getting away from what is being talked about right now and I don't want to get into an argument about it at this moment. - unsigned comment from Flain (talkcontribs)
Flain, right now you are only digging a deeper and deeper hole for yourself. It's really not that hard to own up to your mistakes and say "ok, I'm sorry for edit warring and I concede to keep the information", and even if you don't mean it, it makes the situation better for everyone and makes you look better. --Celadonkey 17:23, 23 June 2017 (UTC)
Fine. But I'm only saying it to put an end to this argument. And I stand by what I said earlier about no one trying to prove what I said about the Ultra Beasts was wrong. - unsigned comment from Flain (talkcontribs)


The "rec" sign is used when there's more than five moves the Pokémon has used. Which is true for Dragonite. And so far, Draco Meteor is the only move it has used since learning that move, so technically that's the only move it's used "recently". --FinnishPokéFan92 (talk) 16:12, 11 June 2021 (UTC)

Check the exceptions at the bottom of the infobox and you’ll see that it specifically states ‘unless all moves apply’ which in this case they do.- unsigned comment from Flain (talkcontribs)
But they don't all apply. It has only used Draco Meteor since learning it, making it the only move we know of. The anime typically only has a Pokémon using four moves so the other three it still knows are a mystery right now.--Rahl (talk) 17:00, 11 June 2021 (UTC)
No, all the moves apply because the symbol is meant to mark moves that have been used recently unless all moves apply which in this case they do because all five were used in a single battle. Flain (talk) 22:00, 11 June 2021 (UTC)
Please do not edit war. --FinnishPokéFan92 (talk) 22:03, 11 June 2021 (UTC)
It should be the most recent "moveset" the Pokémon recently used, so the four most recently used moves.--ForceFire 06:04, 12 June 2021 (UTC)