From Bulbapedia, the community-driven Pokémon encyclopedia.
Imakuni? (Japanese: イマクニ？ Imakuni?) is a Supporter card. It was first released as one of the Japanese Unnumbered Promotional cards as a Trainer card.
|Unnumbered Promotional print
|Your Active Pokémon is now Confused. This card cannot be put down on the field as a Pokémon.
|Dances and sings in the Pokémon Card Game TV CF Song "Can You Name All the Pokémon?" If you see him in the streets, be sure to greet him by saying "Imakuni?, hello".
|Your Active Pokémon is now Confused.
|You may play only 1 Supporter card during your turn (before your attack).
In Japan, this card was first available as a glossy Unnumbered Promotional card on a two-card insert alongside Surfing Pikachu in the September 1997 issue of CoroCoro Comic, released on August 15, 1997. A mail-in prize draw offering another copy was published in the December 1998 issue of Bessatsu CoroCoro Comic Special, released in late October 1998. People wishing to enter the prize draw were required to affix the application ticket on the bottom left of the article page to a postcard and send it to Shogakukan. Two thousand winners were sent a set of five mounted cards on two plain sheets: Imakuni? and Super Energy Retrieval on one; Computer Error, Lt. Surge's Electabuzz, and Erika's Dratini on the other.
A version of Imakuni? on regular card stock was given away during the first Tropical Mega Battle, held at the Hilton Hawaiian Village in Honolulu, Hawaii between August 24 and 27, 1999. It is possible Tomoaki Imakuni himself gave away these cards as he used them in his "Confusion Deck" when playing people casually in-costume at the event. It was later reprinted and reclassified as a Supporter card with updated artwork in the Japanese EX Battle Boost subset. This print no longer features Hit Points and the additional text at the bottom of the card is replaced by the Supporter card rule. This print was later released in the Generations expansion, originating from the Japanese BREAK Starter Pack.
- A translation of the original effect appears in the Pokémon Trading Card Game and has alternate text from the original Japanese promotional card:
|Your Active Pokémon is now Confused. Imakuni wants you to play him as a Basic Pokémon, but you can't. A mysterious creature not listed in the Pokédex. He asks kids around the world, "Who is cuter-Pikachu or me?"
- This was the first card to have "Photo." instead of "Illus." where the illustrator name is traditionally placed. It was also the first to have an image of a real-life person, one of only a handful of cards to do so. The Generations and EX Battle Boost prints lack a "Photo." or "Illus." credit.
Imakuni? is a singer who sings for Pokémon Card TV commercials.