Please remember to follow the manual of style and code of conduct at all times.
Check BNN and Bulbanews for up-to-date Pokémon news and discuss it on the forums or in our IRC channel #bulbagarden on irc.systemnet.info.

Talk:Color Change (ability)

From Bulbapedia, the community-driven Pokémon encyclopedia.
Jump to: navigation, search

If a dual-typed pokémon Skill Swaps or Role Plays Color Change, what happens? Me and my fellow torchics agree on this - Sk8torchic.

I know this is a six month old comment, but I got around to testing it. After Skill Swapping Colour Change onto my Torterra, it was hit by the opponent's Double Slap, and so changed to a Normal-type. I then had my HM Slave use Fly on it (which is super effective against the Grass-type), and it hit for neutral damage and made Torterra a Flying-type. I then got a Water-type to use Surf, which is super effective against Ground-type, but resisted by Grass-types, and it hit for neutral damage, and changed Torterra to a water type. Finally, an Ice Beam was resisted by Torterra, while it is normally super effective against both types.
If you can't be bothered to read that wall of text, my conclusion is that it changes both types. i.e. a dual typed Pokémon will become a mono-typed Pokémon after a Skill Swapped Colour Change has changed its type. Werdnae (talk) 05:23, 28 September 2009 (UTC)

Arceus

If Color Change is Skill Swapped onto Arceus, will it change forme (and color) to the type it becomes? Also, will Judgement retain its former type? Tk3141 00:31, 3 March 2012 (UTC)

Multitype cannot be Skill Swapped. Werdnae (talk) 03:49, 3 March 2012 (UTC)
See this Trivia I added to Arceus's page a while back:
If an Arceus holding a Plate is hacked to have an Ability other than Multitype, it will remain in its current form, but will revert to Normal-type, regardless of what Plate it is holding, creating a situation not unlike Illusion. However, if Arceus is given a different Plate, its Ability will revert to Multitype.
Since it appears to be the plate that determines the type, and not the ability, an Arceus with Color Change would still change type, but it would keep the Forme of the plate it's holding. XVuvuzela2010X 10:33, 3 March 2012 (UTC)

Status ailments.

Does status ailments are dealt before changing into a type immune to them? That could be checked with Inferno in Gen V. Generation III and IV on other hand, it'll be very hard, if not impossible, to test, as there is nothing no type immune to Zap Cannon's paralysis, and DynamicPunch's confusion is temporary. Fling is a Dark-type, so it won't work. Marked +-+-+ 13:24, 11 May 2012 (UTC)