Talk:Toxic Spikes (move)

From Bulbapedia, the community-driven Pokémon encyclopedia.
Jump to: navigation, search

Here's something interesting: [1] At 2:10, I use Roar which brings out an Umbreon that gets Poisoned by Toxic Spikes which activates Synchronize. It seems as if Toxic Spikes CAN activate Synchronize, but only if the switch is caused by a move like Roar or Whirlwind.--Phred 04:01, 27 November 2008 (UTC)

the effect of toxic spikes I test on my Pearl Game...Steel type didn't remove Toxic Spikes......ONLY POISON TYPE CAN DO THIS..Smogon said that only poison type can remove it, but STEEL TYPE WON'T.....please don't add that wrong information......--chungkingpun 02:35, 27 January 2008 (UTC)

Magic Guard?

Does Magic Guard block the ability of Toxic Spikes? I had a Clefable when my opponent had Toxic Spikes on the field, and it didn't seem to get poisoned by the Toxic Spikes. Perhaps further investigation is required. Here is the video of the battle: -- TheKillerNacho

"It does not prevent status problems, but rather protects from damaging effects." Direct quote from the Magic Guard page. Toxic Spikes makes the opponent with Magic Guard poisoned; but does not receive a damage from it. Kevzo8 12:58, 15 April 2009 (UTC)
Yes, except that I provided video evidence to the contrary. I'm well aware to as what Bulbapedia's entry about Magic Guard is, I'm just saying that it could be wrong. If that is not the case, look at the video I provided and come up with an explanation. TheKillerNacho 18:32, 16 April 2009 (UTC)

What about regular Flying pokemon with Gravity?

For example, a Staraptor switching in on Toxic Spikes while Gravity is in effect or holding an Iron Ball. Do they get poisoned? DisgruntledGoat 02:17, 10 September 2010 (UTC)

Yes, flying pokemon and pokemon with levitate are also affected if they are Baton Passed Ingrain. Pikiwyn 10:33, 10 September 2010 (UTC)

Multiple Times?

If you used Toxic Spikes more than twice, does the damage taken through poisoning increase at all?Confusion 20:48, 31 March 2012 (UTC)

No. Only twice.--Muk-a-matic-Maketh the Muk go round... 21:15, 31 March 2012 (UTC)