Talk:Transform (move)

From Bulbapedia, the community-driven Pokémon encyclopedia.
Revision as of 21:11, 30 August 2012 by Muk-a-matic (talk | contribs) (Undo revision 1753680 by Issaru (talk) No replying to discussions over 6 months old.)
Jump to: navigation, search

Can Smeargle copy Transform with Sketch? --TTEchidna 06:18, 8 June 2007 (UTC)

Yes, I think it does. Tesh 19:46, 17 September 2007 (UTC)

In Gen II. Otherwise, no.--Goukazaru 23:00, 5 December 2007 (UTC)

Okay, if Ditto is shiny and uses Transform on a regular Pokemon, will the transformed Ditto be Shiny? Will it be shiny if its a normal Ditto transforming into a Shiny Pokemon? What about if their both shiny?--Goukazaru 23:00, 5 December 2007 (UTC)

If the Ditto that you're using is Shiny, YES, it will transform shiny no matter what type of Pokémon you use it on. If you use a regular Ditto on a Shiny Pokémon, NO, it will not transform shiny. --Theryguy512 23:03, 5 December 2007 (UTC)

Actually on a wifi battle I used Transform with my mew against a shiny girantina and It was a shiny girantina.Darkmaster0 21:36, 25 February 2008 (UTC)

Hunting ditto, I saw a not-shiny turn into my shiny Rapidash. It even gave the sparkle after it escaped the first pokeball. It is most definitely not shiny itself, however.

How about with Substitute and Baton Pass? On substitute, does ditto transform into the Substitute? If so, and it uses Baton Pass, and it gets sent back out via Baton Pass, will it still be a Ditto or the substitute? Finally, if a Pokemon transforms into Ditto, then into another Pokemon (like, say, Shedinja), and gets caught, will it be a Shedinja still, or Ditto? ---ht14 21:45, 12 March 2007 (GMT)

No, it won't turn into the substitute. It'll just fail (I think). And for your last question, you're saying that the ditto transforms twice in one battle. That can't be done, unless you use a mew. And if it gets caught, It woundn't be the transformed Pokémon, it'll be the Mew. (right?)--Theryguy512 10:51, 13 March 2008 (UTC)

Wait, is this true?

"In-game, if a wild Pokémon uses Transform and is subsequently caught, it will become a Ditto, regardless of what species it originally was."

So, wait, if there's a wild Smeargle that somehow copies your Ditto's transform and you catch it, you'll have caught a Ditto, and not a Smeargle? --Someone Else 14:44, 27 March 2008 (UTC) No, the effect of Transorm is only during the battle.

If this were true as of Generation III, then you'd pretty much need a Master Ball to catch the World's Edge Island Mew in Emerald. Trust me, if that's true for Generation I, then they fixed it after either that generation or Generation II. --Shiningpikablu252 15:36, 27 March 2008 (UTC)
This IS true, but *ONLY* in RBY. It was fixed for GSC.Blueapple128 17:21, 25 October 2008 (UTC)

Stats and other things

I've a few queries as to what happens with transform and the following:

  • Hold Items - Does the Transformed Pokémon have it's original item, or what the target is holding?
  • Stats - Are they the exact same as the target with same EVs, or are they calculated on the EVs of the transformed Pokémon?
    • On the same note, what happens with nature stat changes?

Gywall(Talk) 09:53, 7 August 2008 (UTC)

Right. The held item remains the same for both Pokemon. So the transformed Pokemon will still have its original item. The stats of the target, including the EV's are copied and including any stat increases/decreases. The nature of the target is also copied. TESHIGIGAS 17:31, 25 October 2008 (UTC)

So, wait. If you have a level 1 ditto, and you use transform against a level 100 Mewtwo, you'll have the level 100's stats, but with a level 1's HP? Or do you have the stats of a level 1 Mewtwo with the same IVs, EVs, Nature, etc? Talonos 22:22, 1 November 2009 (UTC)


I battled Ditto vs. Ditto in Crystal, where my speed was higher than the opponent. What happened was that my Ditto successfully transformed, but the other Ditto didn't. Eventually, the opponent DID get into Struggle. So I'm confused... ht14 03:52, 29 August 2008 (UTC)

Might happen only in DP. TTEchidna 05:10, 29 August 2008 (UTC)
I guess that's true, as it's confirmed with 22:09, 4 September 2008 (UTC)

Transform glitch?

On the Ditto page, it says that there is a glitch in D/P involving Ditto using transform on the foe then keeping the foe's moveset somehow after the battle. Is this true? If it is, how do you do it? Blueapple128 17:22, 25 October 2008 (UTC)

Yes it happened to me before but i deleted the moves and brought it to a tutor and got transform again i thinl its because if you use transform then you switch out then run ayat you keep the movesetLeftywright 07:58, 9 August 2010 (UTC)

Usage on Pokémon in the midst of a move with a semi-invulnerable turn

My tests indicate that Transform cannot be used on a Pokémon who is in the midst of a move with a semi-invulnerable turn like Dig, Fly, and Bounce, at least in Generation IV. However, the pages for Dig and Fly both indicate that Transform will not miss on a Pokémon using these moves. But both of those pages list this under Generation I, so the behavior may have changed in Generation IV. I don't want to simply change these pages if the behavior in older generations does not match IV. Is anyone here able to test Transform on a Pokémon using Dig or Fly in a previous generation? — Laoris (Blah) 18:13, 6 November 2008 (UTC)

Transformed Sketch?

If a Ditto/Mew Transformed into a Smeargle, then tried to use Sketch, would it fail? And, if not, would the Sketched move stay on the Ditto/Mew that transformed? It sounds like it wouldn't work but it would be awesome to get moves other than Transform on a Ditto. --Alex S. 04:08, 6 February 2009 (UTC)

Although I never tried it, I'm pretty sure that this actually did work in Generation II, which led to a bit of a hullabaloo over whether or not to allow moves gained like this to be included in Tournament play. However, as I've said, I've never actually done this myself. Can anyone confirm? Schreiber 23:53, 12 November 2009 (UTC)

STAB Question

Will a pokémon that uses Transform and changes type(s) get STAB for the new type(s) or retain the STAB for the original type(s)? Is it the same for all generations?

White Phoenix 03:18, 21 May 2009 (UTC)

Now that it's not worded for a forum, I'll tell you. The Transformed Pokémon copies everything BUT the target's item, and HP. Otherwise, stats, attacks, ability, and types are the same. And because they're now a new type, they get the STAB of the copied Pokémon, but only if the moves used are the same type, just like what happens normally. R.A. Hunter Blade 12:47, 21 May 2009 (UTC)

Copying IVs

Obviously, at one point; Ditto was able to copy its foes IVs, at least to some extent; it was presumably the whole basis to the "Shiny Ditto Trick" In Gen I/II. However, very little information is given about the idea of copying IVs, so it makes me wonder if it still works... or even to what extent it worked to begin with. (The "Shiny Ditto Trick" was somewhat convoluted...) --Saethori 23:53, 1 August 2009 (UTC)

Copy Ability?

Does it copy the target's ability? I was battling a ditto recently, and i paralized it after it transformed. If it didn't copy the ability, then it would've still had limber and wouldn't have been able to be paralized, right? Morgil27 03:55, 15 April 2010 (UTC)

Capture Method Change?

I was just hunting a ditto with my snorlax in front. I didn't have anyone weak enough to damage it without KOing it, so I just tried hucking balls at it. It escaped them quickly. However, to my surprise, I got one, then two wiggles out of two Heavy Balls before it escaped them. Am I right in thinking that once a pokémon uses Transform, any of the special considerations for capture aside from level (and gender, I think?) that apply for the original are applied to the Transformed one? In other words, once a pokémon Transforms, do special balls check for the new Transformed form instead of the original ditto for capture rate-increasing criteria? FerreTrip 16:58, 17 August 2010 (UTC)

I just caught one of the buggers after having it Transform into my gyarados, putting it to sleep with my newly-withdrawn venomoth, then hucking a Net Ball at it. Caught it right away. I think this might be further proof. (Nicknamed it "TrickyFish", btw. X3 ) FerreTrip 17:06, 17 August 2010 (UTC)

Exp Yield

From my own experience in HG/SS, it DOES copy the Pokemon's Exp Yield: I defeated two different Ditto: One used transform on Pidgeot and the other was fainted before that, and both were Level 35. The one that fainted before transforming rewarded 270 Exp where the one that was able to transform into Pidgeot rewarded 810 Exp. This wasn't the case in B/W though, because I've seen Ditto transform into nearly every Pokemon I've ever used at Giant Chasm from Emboar to Arceus, and always rewarded around 1,000 or so Exp no matter which it transformed into. Shiramu Kuromu 23:51, 21 May 2011 (UTC)


If a ditto transform into a chatot that knows chatter what would happen if the ditto tried to use it? Savelijah 14:08, 26 May 2011 (UTC)

Just tested it. It works normally. Ditto always uses Chatot's default cry though, not its cry via Chatter. --SnorlaxMonster 14:20, 26 May 2011 (UTC)

Type Change

When transforming into a Pokémon that had been "Soaked" would Ditto take the Pokémon's original type or Water? --Wild Gardevoir ♂ 02:28, 1 September 2011 (UTC)

In Double battles?

Here's a Generation III question -- can multiple Pokemon each use Transform during a double battle, long as that they are not using it on each other? --Stratelier 02:24, 13 February 2012 (UTC)

I was doing some testing last night and realized that at least in Generation V the answer is 'yes' -- I had a Smeargle and Ditto both transform into the same wild Patrat around Nacrene. --Stratelier 16:56, 13 February 2012 (UTC)

EV yield

Does Transform copy EV yield? Tk3141 02:05, 19 April 2012 (UTC)

Mew Transform Glitch

Hey guys, in Pokemon Blue i was battling Blue's Gyarados with a level 19 Mew, it transformed into enemy Pokemon and, after Mew defeated Gyarados, it went up to level 20, level in which Mew learns Megapunch. At last Mew retained the Gyarados sprite but regained the old moves plus Megapunch. Should we add this case in "Oddities"? --- unsigned comment from snort (talkcontribs)