Talk:Masuda method

From Bulbapedia, the community-driven Pokémon encyclopedia.
Revision as of 03:32, 13 December 2012 by Scratched Disk (talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search


I'm a tad comfused on how this works, can this be explained more clearly? Does it mean like i could get a japanese pokemon from the GTS and breed it with one of my pokemon? -- GoldHusky (talk) 14:11, 4 October 2009 (UTC)

Exactly. And the offspring has a higher chance of being shiny. —darklordtrom 19:36, 4 October 2009 (UTC)

Does anyone know if this works for ALL languages, or just Japanese? Say I get my hands on a British/English Pokemon and put it on my American card, does it work the same? - unsigned comment from YourMooseyFate (talkcontribs)

May I?

The information in the article is a little confusing to read unless you read it through four times straight. May I make a section on the article listing everything that counts and doesn't? For example saying "Players can use one Pokémon from their own game (male or female) and one Pokémon from a foreign game (male or female), this will increase the chances of the egg hatching a shiny. Using two Pokémon from a foreign game will have the same odds, and Pokémon from Meister do not count as they are not from a foreign cartridge of the game" ect, ect. So yeah, can I? - Takoto 20:35, 15 December 2009 (UTC)


I realize this works with a foreign, say, Marill and your own Ditto, but would it work with a foreign Ditto and your own Marill? Basically, I'm asking if Ditto is an exception at all. Sadistic Blaziken 04:57, 30 June 2010 (UTC)

There are no exceptions to this rule. Just as long as the Pokemon was generated on a foreign game (so basically, no Lt Surge's Pikachu, or Meister's Magikarp), it'll work. So yeah, foreign Ditto/your Marill would work. ▫▫ティナ 05:27, 1 July 2010 (UTC)

In Game Trades?

If I use the foreign Pikachu in HG/SS or the foreign Magikarp in D/P/P as a parent, will the Masuda method work on their offspring? CubeShapedWatermelon 04:34, 15 July 2010 (UTC)

Nope. It's generated by your own game, so it won't work. See the section above. ▫▫ティナ 04:38, 15 July 2010 (UTC)

Evolve foreign in you own game

What happens if you evolve a foreign Pokémon in your own game? Does it still count as foreign or not? - unsigned comment from Mr.Char (talkcontribs)

Yes, it still counts as foreign. —Minimiscience 22:54, 23 February 2011 (UTC)

OK, fairly major discovery here!

Take a look at this! Research from Smogon proves that not only does the Masuda method now take the Everstone into consideration, but now the shiny chance is 1 in 1366! Hello! - unsigned comment from Missingno. Master (talkcontribs) 01:43, 26 February 2011 (UTC)

Questions & Answers

Quote So if you have a forgein Mamoswine and your own ditto the massuda metod would'nt work? Nintendo100Nintendo100 20:33, 14 April 2011 (UTC)

The Masuda method will work. The OTs don't matter; only the native languages do. —Minimiscience 20:45, 14 April 2011 (UTC)

Quick question

If I have a Japanese Vulpix from, say, SoulSilver, and an English Ditto from Black, will the method still work? Or do I need the two Pokemon to both be from the same generation? Ratikate {{SUBST:ani|282}} 04:15, 23 May 2011 (UTC)

It has to be from Generation IV onward. Pokémon aren't marked with a nationality until Generation IV, and transferred Generation III Pokémon are marked by the game they get transferred to. I don't know what that would mean for a Pikachu caught in a Japanese copy of Emerald and traded to an American game, then Pal Parked, though. All I know is that whatever language it's marked as in Generation IV, it doesn't change on transfer to Generation V. The only things that IV to V prevents is transfer between different-language versions of the game, probably to prevent people from just importing the game. - unsigned comment from TTEchidna (talkcontribs)

Which languages count as foreign?

A list of them would be nice, given it sounds like Italian and Spanish pokémon wouldn't count because they aren't "localized" unlike German and French ones. Luna Tiger * the Arc Toraph 03:42, 30 May 2011 (UTC)

Since it is based on the country of origin byte, I would assume that even the country difference between US and UK games would work to produce this effect. However, it is possible that the game restricts to countries of differing languages. I think it is quite likely that Italian and Spanish games would work for the Masuda method. --SnorlaxMonster 12:39, 8 September 2011 (UTC)

Wait a moment.

Why it said before (not sure how long ago) that in Gen IV chance was 1/2048 (4 times more), but now it says 1/1639 (5 times more) Now I am confused which one is actually true. Marked +-+-+ 19:16, 4 April 2012 (UTC)

Language or home location?

In the Usage it mentions language as being the determining factor between whether or not you can perform the masuda method with two pokemon, while in the mechanics, it says the marker that determines home location is used. which is correct? I would assume home location, as it allows for more options when looking for foreign pokemon, but i want to know for sure. Sinthrill (talk) 03:05, 20 June 2012 (UTC)

Everstone details

The article says that foreign-language Pokémon are not able to pass down their nature to their offspring if they hold an Everstone. However, I'm breeding two Scythers in Pokémon Platinum (En-US): One is a female, Adamant Scyther originated in and migrated from Pokémon FireRed (En-US) which is holding an Everstone, and the other is a male, Hardy Sichlor originated in Pokémon FeuerRote (German), but migrated from the English copy of FireRed. While it is stated in the article that the Everstone doesn't have an effect when held by a foreigner, I have already hatched 14 Scyther eggs, and none of them had the Adamant nature, even though the mother is from the same language as the game and holds an Everstone. Does the fact that both parents come from different languages that nullifies the Everstone's effect? Or is just that I have bad luck? BTW, The male Sichlor is indeed recognized as a foreigner by the game, as I've got the Deutsch Pokédex entry for Scyther with him. hfc2X 02:40, 14 July 2012 (UTC)

"In Gen IV, does not work if the parent comes from a game in a different language" - You are breeding in Platinum, which is Generation IV. Marked +-+-+ (talk) 10:00, 17 July 2012 (UTC)
My question is about article accuracy, not which generation my game belongs to. hfc2X 03:48, 19 July 2012 (UTC)
Marked answered your question. Because your Pokemon are from two different languages, which is stated in the article, Everstone doesn't work. But only in Gen IV. --It's Funktastic~! (talk) 03:50, 19 July 2012 (UTC)
It's not about the parents being a different language to your game, it's about the parents being a different language to each other. So yes, in your situation the Everstone would fail. --SnorlaxMonster 04:01, 19 July 2012 (UTC)
Okay, it's now clear in the article. Thanks. hfc2X 02:27, 20 July 2012 (UTC)

Location identifier byte

Does anyone have a list of them? I think it might be useful to see which work. Would Canadian English and Canadian French HGSS work? --Abcboy (talk) 14:05, 26 July 2012 (UTC)

Union room question

Will the masuda method still work if i trade an English pokémon over to my Japanese game through the union room as opposed to from the GTS/PGL?

  • Yes. It doesn't matter how they were traded as long as the pokemon was GENERATED in a foreign game. I should know - I trade foreign pokemon from my Spanish Black to my English Black/White all the time over the Union Room and Infrared, and it doesn't affect the odds since they were still made in a foreign language version of the game. Someday I'll get that shiny froslass. Lugia61617 (talk) 08:54, 2 September 2012 (UTC)

Black and White 2 Masuda Method + Everstone Nature

I am a little confused about this right now, i need some directions, i will picture a scenario

i have a Modest Male Hydreigon and i have a ditto from a japanese version, if i give the everstone to Hydreigon, will it pass the Modest down to the Deino when it hatches? or will it depend on the nature of the ditto, or will it be prevented from working?


So basically here's what is going on: I'm trying to hatch for a shiny Ponyta in White 1. I'm using a Ponyta (US Version) from white 1, and a Ditto (Japan) from Platinum version. I received the ditto from a GTS Trade in Platinum, and then transferred it over to White. It still marks it in my Pokedex as foreign, yet I've hatched over 3390 (and counting) Ponyta's with no results. So my question is, does the fact that the Ditto is transferred from Platinum somehow affecting my chances for hatching a shiny? Scratched Disk (talk) 03:32, 13 December 2012 (UTC) Scratched Disk