Editing of Bulbapedia is currently restricted. Please see this message for more details.
Pokémon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire have arrived!

Check BNN and Bulbanews for up-to-date Pokémon news and discuss it on the forums or in our IRC channel.

Talk:Sketch (move)

From Bulbapedia, the community-driven Pokémon encyclopedia.
Jump to: navigation, search

Only move that can be learned twice?

I know that if some moves are rejected while a Pokémon is in one stage in its evolution, it may try to learn it again when it evolves. Does that count as learning a move twice? Or does it not count because the Pokémon is now a different Pokémon? --ケンジガール 02:48, 30 July 2009 (UTC)

Smeargle and Sketch is not the only case of a Pokémon learning the same move multiple times by level up. Jirachi learns Rest at level 5, and then again at level 30. --Shiningpikablu252 03:24, 30 July 2009 (UTC)

Sketching Lunar Dance/Healing Wish/Memento...

...is it possible? Sidnoea 18:36, 11 August 2009 (UTC)

Memento's certainly doable through the same methods in Generation III one can get Smeargle to Sketch Transform.
Healing Wish should be Sketchable. All you have to do is have Smeargle go right after the Healing Wish, but before an opponent faints the Healing Wish user and causing the effect to trigger.
However, they might have changed the methods so the method used to get Transform in Generation III doesn't work in Generation IV. If so, then Lunar Dance might be unsketchable...--Shiningpikablu252 18:53, 11 August 2009 (UTC)

Sketch and Metronome

Can Sketch sketch Sketch? Also, I don't exactly understand the text about Metronome. When used on Metronome, will it fail (unless Metronome fails), copy Metronome, or copy the move summoned by Metronome? Thanks in advance :) --Afrael 23:26, 3 April 2010 (UTC)

  • It will fail unless Metronome fails, in which case it copies Metronome. TorchicBlaziken (talkedits) 19:18, 28 January 2011 (UTC)

Ditto

If a Ditto uses Transform on a Smeargle, but the Smeargle is unable to use Sketch due to being immobilised, what happens when the Ditto uses Sketch? Does it fail? I suppose the answer is almost certainly yes, seeing as how in the parameters provided, it would fail as it was trying to Sketch Sketch itself, or no move...but, what happens if the Smeargle is then swapped out to another Pokémon and the transformed Ditto uses Sketch on one of the new Pokémon's moves? --Poppy Appletree 06:18, 1 June 2010 (UTC)

Sketch fails if used by a Ditto. I just checked in Platinum, and the targeted Pokémon was just attacking normally. Werdnae (talk) 07:00, 1 June 2010 (UTC)
Thank you kindly. I've only just realised that the answer to my question was already in the article, it was just above the Generation sections. --Poppy Appletree 21:25, 1 June 2010 (UTC)
On the note of Ditto. In Silver, I've now tried one method of teaching Smeargle False Swipe through Sketch several times. I find a Ditto, switch into a Scyther--who knows nothing but False Swipe, thanks to the Move Deleter--and allow the Ditto to transform, then switch to Smeargle. Once the Ditto-Scyther uses False Swipe, I have my Smeargle use Sketch... but... I only get the message that it "does not affect Enemy DITTO!" Sketch seems to function properly on other non-Ditto Pokémon... I'm genuinely uncertain what's going on here, and would really like to know. --MrKiwi 08:57, 5 June 2010 (UTC)
I'm not sure, though what I do in SoulSilver is use wild Smeargles for that task - I have them Sketch a move, then I Sketch it back off them with my Smeargle. :3 --Poppy Appletree 18:15, 5 June 2010 (UTC)
In theory, that wouldn't work if I was trying to have it sketch these four different moves: FalseSwipe, Spore, Thief, and Mean Look, which I am. Two (or three; not sure about Spore) of those you can't find on wild or trainer 'mons in the original Silver. --MrKiwi 21:13, 5 June 2010 (UTC)
I think you may have misunderstood - the process I describe involves finding a wild Smeargle at the Ruins of Alph, using a move on them with one of your own Pokémon (not a Trainer's) that is then Sketched by the wild Smeargle, and then switching to your Smeargle to copy the single move the wild one now has. For each move, one wild Smeargle is required. Hope that clears things up. :3 --Poppy Appletree 06:33, 6 June 2010 (UTC)
Haha, yes, I did misunderstand... But I came back here just now to explain that I figured out that very same trick. XD Thank you, though. --MrKiwi 07:16, 6 June 2010 (UTC)

I would not think that a Ditto using sketch as a move while it is a Smeargle would fail. Yes, it might be a Ditto, but Ditto can use any move that is on the Pokemon copied. That is the beauty of a Ditto. Personally, I only use my Ditto for breeding, and if I am bored and want to battle with it, make my battles fun. Pokemon26 28:45 24 July 2010. (UTC)Pokemon26 00:29, 25 July 2010 (UTC)

It does fail, and that isn't because of Ditto, it's because of Transform. That's just the way it's programmed in. Because otherwise it would screw with Transform, so they just stopped it from happening. Just like how Transform fails if used on a transformed Pokémon. Werdnae (talk) 04:11, 25 July 2010 (UTC)

PP

Is Sketch the only move with 1 pp? --Droidika 17:21, 8 September 2010 (UTC)

Yes, it is. Pikiwyn 18:06, 8 September 2010 (UTC)
Struggle also has 1 PP but it can never run out so it doesn't really count. Pikiwyn 21:51, 8 September 2010 (UTC)

Sketching an already sketched move

What would happen if one were to use Sketch, while the user already knows the move to be sketched? For example, if you were sketching off of Magikarp to get Tackle onto a Smeargle who already knows Splash, the target outspeeds Smeargle, and the target uses Splash, would Sketch fail or would it give Smeargle a second copy of Splash? --TruePikachu 01:26, 27 April 2011 (UTC)

Attempted this in White Version. Sketching a move Smeargle already known returned "But it failed!". - Saethori 05:29, 15 May 2011 (UTC)

Sketch glitch

I know there's kinda already been an discussion on this earlier, but it apparently was possible for a transformed Pokemon (or one using Metronome) to keep a sketched move in Generation II, as the result of exploiting a glitch. It was corrected in Generation III onwards, but I think this glitch should at least be mentioned somewhere here. Rai Marshall 05:57, 12 June 2011 (UTC)

Sketch oddities

Some things I've experimented with in Unova:

  • Since Smeargle can Sketch moves off an ally in a double battle, all you have to do in Gen V to copy any move of interest is walk into your favorite patch of dark grass, and sketch it directly from Smeargle's partner. For example, I got Smeargle to sketch Hidden Power from my starter Serperior....
    • ...but the NPC in Mistralton City still says that my Smeargle "can't learn Hidden Power". Ha! :)
  • You can even sketch Transform right off one of your own Ditto, but only if the attempt to Transform fails first. (Which is the harder part, but still doable.)

--Stratelier 01:49, 13 February 2012 (UTC)

The ability to sketch Transform is stated in the article. As for the NPC is Mistralton City saying Smeargle can't know Hidden Power... maybe it's something in the programming that was overlooked? Which Gen V game are you doing this with? :-) Frozen Fennec 02:01, 13 February 2012 (UTC)
The NPC in Mistralton isn't wrong - Smeargle can't learn Hidden Power. It can only Sketch it. The only move it "learns" is Sketch. It's a subtle but significant distinction. Aielyn 08:54, 19 May 2012 (UTC)
Pokemon White Version. In the meantime, at the risk of sounding like an FAQ I did resolve several ways to make Smeargle learn Transform:
  • Go to the Giant Chasm with a Ditto and Smeargle in your party. Encounter a wild Ditto in a double battle, allow it to transform first, then attempt to Transform into it (which fails) and Sketch your Ditto.
  • Take a Zorua/Zoroark and Ditto into any double battle and attempt to Transform into Zorua/Zoroark. It fails because of Illusion, then swap out Zorua/Zoroark for Smeargle and Sketch your Ditto. But you will need something else (like an item) to spend Ditto's turn on while you're swapping out for Smeargle.
  • Have Smeargle use Substitute against any wild Ditto. This makes Ditto's Transform fail, and you can Sketch Transform directly. (Which is almost beautiful in its simplicity.)
BTW, the article currently says that Sketch can copy Transform only from Gen IV onwards, however we do have an image showing a Gen 2 Smeargle using Transform. The Substitute method is technically available as far back as Gen 2, is anyone up for attempting to verify whether it works? --Stratelier 17:21, 13 February 2012 (UTC)
Give me a bit of time later today and I can test it on my copies of Gold and Silver. :-) Frozen Fennec 17:38, 13 February 2012 (UTC)
I made the Gen II image using a gameshark move modifier code. It's not an indication that it was possible. That's why they're all Smeargle - I forgot about not sketching transform, and thought it would mean no impossible moves. Since it can't Sketch Transform, it should be replaced. Werdnae (talk) 20:39, 13 February 2012 (UTC)

Sketch Transform

Is what Werdnae said still true about being unable to sketch Transform true? If so I'll edit the Chatter, Sketch, and Transform trivia sections. Frozen Fennec 19:15, 13 March 2012 (UTC)

A way to copy Sketch onto anyone?

Here is a way to give certain Pokemon Sketch (and thus any move). Would this work?

I understand that this may be forum-y, but maybe this could be trivia?

A Pokemon (say Alakazam) is sent out against a Smeargle. Alakazam knows Mimic and Trick, is slower than Smeargle, and is holding a Leppa Berry. On the first turn, Smeargle uses Sketch (and it fails). Alakazam uses Mimic and copies Sketch (temporarily, since if the process is stopped right now it will disappear by the end of the battle). On the next turn, Smeargle has no moves left, so it uses Struggle. Alakazam uses Trick and gives Smeargle the Leppa Berry, which restores the PP for Sketch. On the next turn, Smeargle uses Sketch and copies Trick, and Alakazam uses Sketch. Alakazam sketches Sketch, and obtains it permanently. Tk3141 03:11, 17 April 2012 (UTC)

Baton Pass

When I try to use Sketch to copy Baton Pass, the game just tells me that it failed. Can Sketch also not copy Baton Pass, or can it fail for other reasons in Generation V?- unsigned comment from Dimenticare (talkcontribs)

It depends on the situation, did you have more than two Pokémon in your party? You need to have only two Pokémon for the Double Battle in order for it to work. PattyMan 03:15, 16 August 2012 (UTC)
It was against Dancer Davey with two L68 Mr. Mime in the Small Court in Nimbasa City. I had a L41 Smeargle. Sketch failed on multiple tries.Dimenticare (talk) 00:44, 18 August 2012 (UTC)
Is that a double battle? I believe Baton Pass must fail in order for sketch to work on it. Otherwise Sketch is targeting a Pokemon that hasn't used any moves, and thus fails. Werdnae (talk) 01:24, 18 August 2012 (UTC)
It was a single battle. Dimenticare (talk) 04:37, 19 August 2012 (UTC)
Then Sketch is failing because Baton Pass is succeeding. If the opponent uses a switching move, the switch has to fail. Otherwise the target that Sketch hits hasn't used a move. So there's nothing to Sketch. Try using another Pokémon to knock out one of his Mr. Mime and then sketching Baton Pass from the other. Werdnae (talk) 10:29, 19 August 2012 (UTC)
Interesting, I'll try that. Thanks. Dimenticare (talk) 15:35, 20 August 2012 (UTC)

Sketching Metronome in Gen 5

I was really confused as to why I couldn't Sketch Metronome - the move description details it working past G3 as, "It can also be used to copy Metronome and Transform, if the move fails to activate due to effects such as sleep", so my setup was Clefairy (SLP) and Smeargle in a wild double battle. Clefairy would select Metronome, sleep through it, then Smeargle would target Clefairy with Sketch and fail. Sketch only succeeded when Clefairy woke up, Metronome called Horn Drill (which did hit the opponent), and Smeargle copied the Metronome (not Horn Drill.) RacieB (talk) 19:22, 12 November 2012 (UTC)

Sketch Mimic Glitch

I had Smeargle learn Mimic and sketch in Emerald, and when i sketched a move after using mimic, it resulted in both moves being 'Sketched', that is, smeargle knew both moves after battle. I didn't see this glitch being mentioned anywhere. W00tious (talk) 12:43, 23 March 2013 (UTC)

Metronome + Sketch????

What happens if Metronome calls Sketch?!

Pokemon nomekop (talk) 19:04, 12 June 2013 (UTC)

If you look at the Metronome article, it clearly states that Metronome cannot call out Sketch. ht14 19:11, 12 June 2013 (UTC)