Our 2014 Christmas Contests have begun! Check the Bulbagarden Forums to find out how you could win 1 of 30 copies of ORAS!
Please remember to follow the manual of style and code of conduct at all times.
Check BNN and Bulbanews for up-to-date Pokémon news and discuss it on the forums or in our IRC channel #bulbagarden on irc.systemnet.info.

Talk:Magic Guard (Ability)

From Bulbapedia, the community-driven Pokémon encyclopedia.
Jump to: navigation, search

Status Damage?

Does this ability mean that the Cleffa Family receive no damage from being poisoned or burnt? -Tesh

Pretty much, yeah. If they have it, that is. If they have the other ability, Cute Charm, it means that hitting them with a move that touches (like ThunderPunch) might cause the foe to become infatuated. --TTEchidna 22:38, 24 June 2007 (UTC)

That's something to writs down for when it's released! Tesh 16:16, 13 July 2007 (UTC)

What about Belly Drum? Decresc

Magic Guard does not prevent HP loss from Belly Drum. Silmina 17:39, 8 April 2009 (UTC)


I think it should be mention too. When my Clefairy was trapped by Sand Tomb, No damage is take at the end of the following rounds. (thought the trapping effect is still there.) Chungkingpun 9:36, 7 September 2008 (UTC)

Magic Guard+Toxic Orb+Facade=Ouch. Diachronos 17:16, 9 October 2008 (UTC)

Guts+Flame Orb+Facade+pseudo-Magic Guard = Worse Ouch!!!!! Me and my fellow torchics agree on this - Sk8torchic 19:19, 22 October 2008 (UTC)
Guts + Magic Guard? Impossible! TESHIGIGAS 19:38, 22 October 2008 (UTC)
Facade+FLAME Orb? Burn lowers your Attack stat, so why cripple yourself? Diachronos 17:01, 12 December 2008 (UTC)

Life Orb?

will Magic Guard prevent the HP loss due to using a Life Orb? -KinCryos 22:51, 23 December 2008 (UTC)

Yes, it does. Silmina 17:35, 8 April 2009 (UTC)

Toxic Spikes?

Does Magic Guard Pokemon not get poisoned by Toxic Spikes? I was in a battle recently and my Clefable did not get poisoned by my opponent's Toxic Spikes. This may require further investigation. Here's the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NTGTk97I4uE - unsigned comment from TheKillerNacho (talkcontribs)

Well, if a Magic Guard Pokémon can be inflicted by a status condition via normal means, I don't see why it wouldn't be poisoned by Toxic Spikes. Magic Guard merely nullifies indirect damage, which would mean that the Pokémon can be poisoned, but wouldn't take poison damage. --Jayc 13:56, 20 April 2009 (UTC)
Then please explain the Youtube video, where Toxic Spikes are clearly set up and yet Clefable (with Magic Guard) is not poisoned upon switching in. Is there another explanation in which I am simply overlooking? I would appreciate that you actually consider my post before responding. Yes, I know the effect of Magic Guard. Yes, from simply reading the effect of Magic Guard, it appears that it should not protect against Toxic Spikes. However, I witnessed a contradiction, and I would appreciate that you consider my evidence. -- Thekillernacho 14:27:28, 21 April 2009 (UTC)

Poison?

I know in-battle Poison damage is prevented, but what about the damage from walking around while poisoned? Does it prevent damage from that too?--Gou 05:51, 18 June 2009 (UTC)

A Clefairy with it in Platinum says that no, Magic Guard doesn't prevent poison damage while walking. Werdnae 06:27, 18 June 2009 (UTC)

Curse/Pain Split

Would Clefairy/able/ffa be able to take damage from Curse at the end of each turn? Or is it immune to that as well? Also, what's the ruling on Pain Split? It's not a direct-damage attack, so I'm not totally sure... → @ 00:02, 27 January 2010 (UTC)

Since this is quite old, I'll note that I would also like to know about Pain Split. There's still interest. With more pokemon having Magic Guard now, I suspect the answer will be less obscure in a couple of months. PLA 18:09, 9 January 2011 (UTC)
Damage from Curse is prevented but Pain Split works normally. Pikiwyn talk 18:12, 9 January 2011 (UTC)
Thank you for the quick reply! PLA 18:15, 9 January 2011 (UTC)

Confusion?

How does Magic Guard interact with confusion? (Shivafang 14:58, 29 July 2010 (UTC)) Confusion works completly normal since confusion is treated like the bearer is attacking itself with a typeless physical attack with base power 40. --- Pokémon Questions? -- 17:35, 24 February 2012 (UTC)

Items and abilities?

Is damage prevented from items like Rocky Helmet? If yes, is the damage from Sticky Barb prevented both when the user or the foe is holding it? And how about abilities like Iron Barbs, Liquid Ooze and Aftermath??? --- Pokémon Questions? -- 17:42, 24 February 2012 (UTC)