Please remember to follow the manual of style and code of conduct at all times.
Check BNN and Bulbanews for up-to-date Pokémon news and discuss it on the forums or in our IRC channel #bulbagarden on

Talk:Masuda method

From Bulbapedia, the community-driven Pokémon encyclopedia.
Revision as of 23:04, 23 February 2011 by Mr.Char (Talk | contribs) (Mismagius: new section)

Jump to: navigation, search

I'm a tad comfused on how this works, can this be explained more clearly? Does it mean like i could get a japanese pokemon from the GTS and breed it with one of my pokemon? -- GoldHusky (talk) 14:11, 4 October 2009 (UTC)

Exactly. And the offspring has a higher chance of being shiny. —darklordtrom 19:36, 4 October 2009 (UTC)

Does anyone know if this works for ALL languages, or just Japanese? Say I get my hands on a British/English Pokemon and put it on my American card, does it work the same?

May I?

The information in the article is a little confusing to read unless you read it through four times straight. May I make a section on the article listing everything that counts and doesn't? For example saying "Players can use one Pokémon from their own game (male or female) and one Pokémon from a foreign game (male or female), this will increase the chances of the egg hatching a shiny. Using two Pokémon from a foreign game will have the same odds, and Pokémon from Meister do not count as they are not from a foreign cartridge of the game" ect, ect. So yeah, can I? - Takoto 20:35, 15 December 2009 (UTC)


I realize this works with a foreign, say, Marill and your own Ditto, but would it work with a foreign Ditto and your own Marill? Basically, I'm asking if Ditto is an exception at all. Sadistic Blaziken 04:57, 30 June 2010 (UTC)

There are no exceptions to this rule. Just as long as the Pokemon was generated on a foreign game (so basically, no Lt Surge's Pikachu, or Meister's Magikarp), it'll work. So yeah, foreign Ditto/your Marill would work. ▫▫ティナ 05:27, 1 July 2010 (UTC)

In Game Trades?

If I use the foreign Pikachu in HG/SS or the foreign Magikarp in D/P/P as a parent, will the Masuda method work on their offspring? CubeShapedWatermelon 04:34, 15 July 2010 (UTC)

Nope. It's generated by your own game, so it won't work. See the section above. ▫▫ティナ 04:38, 15 July 2010 (UTC)

Evolve foreign in you own game

What happens if you evolve a foreign Pokémon in your own game? Does it still count as foreign or not? - unsigned comment from Mr.Char (talkcontribs)

Yes, it still counts as foreign. —Minimiscience 22:54, 23 February 2011 (UTC)


Doesn't Kodai's Mismagius count as Alternately colored because of those long extensions on its' body?